Welcome to the website of the Western Orthodox University.

Originally founded on 1 August 1945, the Western Orthodox University is a private Christian distance-learning international university, specializing in adult education, that is today open to men and women of all faiths and backgrounds from around the world. It awards degrees in the main areas of theology, the arts and the humanities at all levels from the associate’s degree to the doctorate under its incorporation with degree-granting authority in the Commonwealth of Dominica.

The University’s highly traditional approach, very different from the standardized mass education philosophy prevalent today, is based on one-to-one mentoring, with no pre-packaged courses and with most programmes consisting of guided reading and written assignments that are tailored to the student’s aims and interests. Most students are mid-career or retired adults studying for career enhancement or personal interest. They interact with their mentors face to face, by electronic means or by correspondence. Mentors are co-opted as necessary from among the University’s Fellows, as well as from other academic institutions and established scholars internationally.

The Western Orthodox University has since 6 August 1977 been formally united with the Apostolic Episcopal Church, a worldwide Continuing Anglican jurisdiction founded in 1925 and recognized by the Statutes of the State of New York, USA, since 1932. The Western Orthodox University is accredited by the Anglican Association of Colleges and Schools, the umbrella body for the educational institutions of the Apostolic Episcopal Church, and holds a number of other recognitions and validation agreements with universities in Latin America.

Although the Western Orthodox University is a Christian institution, admission to its programmes (with the exception of certain programmes in theology) is open to all, regardless of their religious beliefs. It is a sister institution to European-American University (Commonwealth of Dominica) which offers mainly secular programmes of study. The Western Orthodox University incorporates the Western Orthodox Academy (also founded in 1945), and the Epiphany Guild (founded 1924), each of which offer specialized programmes of study, and several research centres.

The activities of the Western Orthodox University today also include significant responsibilities for archival preservation and dissemination. The University has an overall mission to collect information and resources concerned with the smaller Catholic, Orthodox and Continuing Anglican churches during the post-1866 period. This embraces a general scholarly interest in the modern independent sacramental movement both historically and in terms of theology and practice, and an ongoing programme of research. The European-American University Press provides a means for the book publication of its research output.

As a fully independent religious institution, the University greatly values its status as a private body controlled by a Church which has since its inception presented a distinctively Western Orthodox viewpoint and a determinedly ecumenical conservative Christian witness. Today, the Western Orthodox University also has a full relationship of reciprocal partnership, recognition and accreditation with the historic Pontificia Accademia Tiberina in Rome, Italy, founded in 1813 and recognized by the Sacred Congregation of Studies under Pope Leo XII in 1825.